See More About: , , ,

How to Control Facebook Places Privacy Settings

by

With the recent launch of Facebook Places and the ability for your friends on Facebook to see where you are and at what time, some users may be concerned with certain friends having access to this information. By default Facebook Places only shares your check-ins with your friends on Facebook so there is no need to panic about the entire world being able to view your check-ins. If you are looking to make your Facebook Places check-ins a bit more private or your wish to broadcast your whereabouts to the world, this guide will show you how to edit Facebook Places privacy settings.

If you have any comments or questions please use the comments form below.

facebookplacesprivacysettings thumb How to Control Facebook Places Privacy Settings

1. When you log in to your Facebook account, click on the Account button in the top right corner of the page.

2. Click on Privacy Settings from the list.

facebookplacesprivacysettingsa thumb How to Control Facebook Places Privacy Settings

A. In the Sharing on Facebook section you will notice that there are a list of elements that are shareable on Facebook along with who they are shared with. You will also notice that Places I check in to is only shared with Friends Only.

3. To customize who your check-ins are shared with click on the Customize settings link.

facebookplacesprivacysettingsb thumb How to Control Facebook Places Privacy Settings

4. Scroll down the list and find Places I check in to and click on the drop-down list to choose the audience you wish to share your check-ins with. You can customize it further by selected Customize from the list.

facebookplacesprivacysettingsc thumb How to Control Facebook Places Privacy Settings

5. With Custom Privacy you will be able to decide which groups have access to your check-ins and which networks.

6. You will also be able to block specific people from seeing your check-ins.

7. When you are done customizing your settings. Click on the Save Setting button and you are done.

Originally posted Aug 20, 2010

We close comments after 30 days on GilsMethod.com and ask that you post questions and issues on our Answers website.

This helps us better serve you by allowing us to keep track of unanswered questions that are usually hidden in long comment threads.

Answers.GilsMethod.com is a community-powered support website where you will be able to post questions, and other users including us will respond with expert advice.

So if you are having trouble with your PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or other piece of technology, head over to Answers.GilsMethod.com and ask away.