See More About: , , ,

How to Enable Automatic Data Wipe on the iPad

by

If you carry around a lot of sensitive information on your iPad it may be a good idea not only to add a passcode lock, but also to enable automatic data wipe.

The automatic data wipe feature will erase all data on your iPad after 10 failed passcode attempts. This means that if someone is trying to figure out your password they will only have 10 attempts before the iPad is completely erased.

Again, this feature is not for everyone, especially those who tend to forget passwords, but it is essential for people who carry extremely sensitive information on their iPads.

The guide below will show you how to enable this feature on the iPad.

Enable Erase Data on the iPad

Software/Hardware used: iPad 2 running iOS 4.3.2.

1. Tap Settings on the Home Screen.

enabled data wipe erase ipad 1 How to Enable Automatic Data Wipe on the iPad

2. When Settings opens, tap Passcode Lock.

enabled data wipe erase ipad 2 How to Enable Automatic Data Wipe on the iPad

3. If you already have a Passcode set on your iPad, enter the code when prompted and proceed to the next step.

Don’t have a passcode, you need to follow the How to Set a Password on the iPad guide to enable the data wipe feature. Once the passcode is enabled you will be able to complete this guide.

enabled data wipe erase ipad 3 How to Enable Automatic Data Wipe on the iPad

4. In the Passcode Lock page, toggle ON Erase Data.

enabled data wipe erase ipad 4 How to Enable Automatic Data Wipe on the iPad

5. You will be prompted to confirm turning on this feature. Tap Enable to continue.

Next time you lock your iPad you will only have 10 failed attempts before it automatically erases all of the information on the iPad and sets it back to factory conditions.

If for whatever reason you cannot remember the iPad‘s passcode make sure to sync before running out of failed attempts to ensure your data is backed up.

Have any questions? Please use the comments form below.

See More About: , , ,
Originally posted Apr 26, 2011

We close comments after 30 days on GilsMethod.com and ask that you post questions and issues on our Answers website.

This helps us better serve you by allowing us to keep track of unanswered questions that are usually hidden in long comment threads.

Answers.GilsMethod.com is a community-powered support website where you will be able to post questions, and other users including us will respond with expert advice.

So if you are having trouble with your PC, Mac, iPad, iPhone, or other piece of technology, head over to Answers.GilsMethod.com and ask away.

  • http://kiss.howtofrench.com How To French Kiss

    This is awesome tip. I’m paranoid about losing my iPad because it contains lots of financial information that I really don’t want anyone getting their hands on.